A quick Q&A with Arthur Pic

After moving from DAMS to AV Formula, Arthur looks to be a lot more challenging. He currently sits 7th in the FR3.5 championship, but with 10 more rounds to go, anything could happen. The next round is in Moscow, a track where he has previously won, so I wish him the best of luck!

Pic1
1. When did you first realise you wanted to be a racer? Did you watch motor-sports as a child, or were you inspired by someone etc?

Yes, since I was a child. I used to watch motorsport on the TV and began karting just for fun at around 11 years old.

2. In 2008, you achieved 9 out of 14 podium finishes, which of those was your most favourite/memorable?

2008 was indeed a very good year for me! My favourite moment was my double victory at Brno. It’s a track that I really like. In fact, I’ve raced there four times in total and won all of them. The other two were in 2010.

3. That same year, you became the Formul’Acadamy Euro series champion. What were your feelings like? Did this make you even more determined to race in higher ranks?

I was really happy as it was my first year in single-seaters and gave me the opportunity to race in Formula Renault 2.0 in 2009.

4. In 2010 you stayed in the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, and achieved 7 consecutive pole positions, 4 fastest laps and 4 wins and the previous year you were the highest place rookie (impressive). What was your favourite part about racing in this formula? You seemed to do pretty well. 

I’ve already mentioned it actually! My favourite moment was scoring a double pole position and double race victory at Brno.

5. A lot of drivers say Spa is one of their favourite tracks. How did it feel when you won there? Do you enjoy the track too?

Yes, Spa is one of the world’s most impressive racetracks. It’s really fast and a place that all drivers seem to enjoy. Of course, it’s always nice to win there too!

6. What made you choose the Formula Renault route, instead of GP3/2 etc?

I chose to go down the Formula Renault route because you have more track time during a season compared to either GP2 or GP3. And I believe that in order to improve you need to drive as much as possible. Having said that, if you want to graduate to Formula 1 I also think it’s important to do GP2 in order to learn about the tyres.

Pic3

7. The next race is in Moscow, you won there last year, how confident are you feeling for that race this year? (@MissKaty_F1)

I’m feeling confident, especially as I like the circuit a lot. Of course I will be trying to repeat last year’s victory in an effort to catch the guys ahead of me in the championship.

8. Obviously, your brother Charles races in Formula 1 with Caterham. What’s it like having a sibling who is also a competitive racer? Do you push each other? Do you ever go to each others races?

No, I wouldn’t say that we push each other especially. But yes, we do go to see each other sometimes when we can, but it’s not easy with our schedules. When we’re together at home we try not to speak about racing too much!

9. Between races, what do you do for fun? 

I spend a lot of time in Barcelona where AV Formula is based, and also play a lot of sport to prepare myself.

10. What’s next for you? Where do you see yourself in 5 years time? 

Hopefully in F1! It’s where every driver wants to race.

11. Finally, a bit of fun. If you could put together your perfect track using different sectors from different circuits in the world, which ones would you choose?

Sector 1: Moscow Raceway. Turn 1 is pretty fast but the rest of the sector is a bit more technical. Plus I won my first FR3.5 race there!

Sector 2: Motorland Aragon. Just somewhere I enjoy driving!

Sector 3: Brno. It’s a beautiful place to race and somewhere that I have always done well.

Pic2
(all pictures courtesy of Media52)

Leave a Reply

